CCAC Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee

CITIZENS COINAGE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

801 9TH STREET, NW WASHINGTON, DC 20220

United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington DC 20220 Minutes of CCAC Public Meeting (Videoconference) Tuesday, February 15, 2022 (1:02 pm - 2:52 pm)

I. Attendance

- a. CCAC Members in Attendance:
 - Dr. Lawrence Brown (Chair)
 - Peter Van Alfen
 - Arthur Bernstein
 - Dean Kotlowski
 - Dr. Harcourt Fuller
 - Sam Gill
 - Michael Moran
 - Robin Salmon
 - Donald Scarinci
 - Dennis Tucker

b. Mint Officers and Staff in Attendance:

- April Stafford, Chief, Office of Design Management
- Megan Sullivan, Senior Design Specialist
- Boneza Hanchock, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
- Pam Borer, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
- Roger Vazquez, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
- Russell Evans, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
- Joe Menna, Chief Engraver
- Mike Costello, Engraving Manager
- Jennifer Warren, Director, Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs; and Liaison to the CCAC
- Betty Birdsong, Senior Government Affairs Specialist, Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs
- Greg Weinman, Senior Legal Counsel; and Counsel to the CCAC
- c. Members of the Media in Attendance:
 - Brandon Hall, Senior Associate Editor, Whitman Publishing Editor
 - Darcie Graybill, Associate Editor, The Numismatist
 - Mike Unser, Founder and Editor, Coin News Media Group,
 - Maggie Pahl, Editorial Director, Numismatic News
 - Paul Gilkes, Senior Editor, Amos Media/Coin World

II. Minutes

- 1. Chair Lawrence Brown opened the meeting at 1:02 pm, took roll call of the members, and determined that the quorum was met.
- 2. Chair Brown shared comments about the significance of his beginning his term as Chair, an African American, during Black History month.
- 3. The first item on the agenda was review and approval of the minutes of the meeting held on October 19, 2021. Peter van Alfen moved to approve, and it was seconded by Arthur Bernstein. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Ms. April Stafford, Chief of the Mint's Office of Design Management, presented the sixteen obverse and the thirteen reverse candidate designs for the 2023 American Liberty High Relief 24K Gold Coins and Silver Medals.
- 5. Joseph Menna and Mike Costello were asked if any technical considerations were warranted, and they assured the Committee that all designs were able to be produced.
- 6. After a robust discussion on the obverse candidate designs, the CCAC scored them as follows:

```
AML-O-01
AML-O-02
           21 (recommended design)
           13
AML-O-03
AML-O-04
           2
AML-O-05
           11
AML-O-06
           3
AML-O-07
           3
AML-O-08
AML-O-09A 2
AML-O-09B 2
AML-O-10A 6
AML-O-10B 7
AML-O-11
           3
AML-O-12
           4
           4
AML-O-13
AML-O-14
           16
AML-O-15
           3
AML-O-16
           18
```

- 7. After scoring the obverse candidate designs, Dennis Tucker made a motion to approve the recommendation of design #2 (AML-0-02), which received 21 out of a possible 30 points and was the obverse candidate design with the highest score. Peter van Alfen seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- 8. Next, the Committee discussed the reverse candidate designs, and then scored them as follows:

AML-R-01 7 AML-R-02A 8

AML-R-02B 5

```
AML-R-03
           5
AML-R-04A 5
AML-R-04B 4
AML-R-05
           17
AML-R-06
           5
           4
AML-R-07
AML-R-08
           3
           7
AML-R-09
AML-R-10A 6
AML-R-10B 6
AML-R-11
           17 (recommended design)
AML-R-12
AML-R-13
```

- 9. After the designs were scored, Michael Moran made a motion to approve the recommendation of reverse candidate design #12 (AML-R-12), which received 17 out of a possible 30 points and was the reverse candidate design with the highest score. Robin Salmon seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- 10. There being no further business, Chair Brown called for a motion to end the meeting. Arthur Bernstein made the motion. The vote was unanimous, and the meeting ended at 2:52 pm.